South-East Finland – Russia CBC Programme

Cross-Border Cooperation 2014–2020

The South-East Finland – Russia CBC 2014-2020 programme is one of the three programmes implemented at the border regions between Finland and Russia under the European Neighbourhood Instrument (ENI). Eligible programme area consist of the core regions South Karelia, South-Savo and Kymenlaakso in Finland and St. Petersburg and Leningrad region in Russia. Adjoining areas are Uusimaa, Päijät-Häme, North-Savo, North Karelia and Republic of Karelia. In addition to these, partners located in the cities of Turku and Moscow may participate to the projects with some limitations in the use of financial frame and roles of partnership. Programme total funding frame is ca. 77,5 million euros of which the EU co-financing is ca. 50% and the other half equally covered by the state co-financing from Finland and Russia.

The programme will contribute to economic and social development, mitigate common challenges and promote mobility among actors of regional relevance to further improve cross-border cooperation and the sustainable prerequisites of the programme area. The programme will support cooperation projects working for a more innovative and more accessible regions, where partners look for joint solutions to common issues. To form a project, at least one partner from both participating countries core regions must be involved.

In the period 2014‐2020 the South-East Finland – Russia CBC Programme is offering funding in four thematic objectives, with more specified priorities:

  • Business and SME development
    Priority 1: Lively, active and competitive economy
  • Support to education, research, technological development and innovation
    Priority 2: Innovative, skilled and well-educated area
  • Environmental protection, climate change mitigation and disasters prevention/management
    Priority 3: Attractive, clean environment and region
  • Promotion of border management and border security
    Priority 4: Well-connected region